Velveteen Blues

I’ll be honest, I didn’t think this outfit was going to come together as nicely as I had imagined in my head when I was packing for my SoCal trip. However, this outfit became my favorite outfit to wear last weekend. It’s definitely an out-of-the-box outfit that I wouldn’t typically wear which was why I was so skeptical at firstβ€”velvet top and dress? Who dis? #newyearnewme πŸ’πŸ»


When the slip dress + t-shirt combo became popular, I loved the look but never thought I’d be able to pull it off. But when I saw this Grey mock neck velvet top from Romwe (SO SOFT OMG. It’s like caressing your face on beautifully powdered beignets, it’s so soft), I knew I wanted to pair it with my textured slip dress from Forever21 (also super soft). I couldn’t leave it at that. I had to layer it with a coat: 1. Because the outfit was not form fitting so the dress made me look short and stout πŸ™ and 2. It was freezing! (Hence why I threw on a pair of stockings too.) So what better way to add even more texture than with a denim jacket (courtesy of my BF. I called dibs to wear it that morning LOL). I wanted to add some edge to my overall look so I tied a blue handkerchief on my head and kicked on my black, thick blocked booties. πŸ’™πŸ’™

Top: Romwe || Dress: F21 || Jacket: Levi’s

I highly recommend checking out Romwe for in-style pieces for a good price!

 In collaboration with Romwe

Leave a Reply

